Who is an African/Black person?- Black Genetics(Part 1 of 4)

Who is black?  What is an African?  This is a question I have been thinking about the last few years.  Mainly because I have seen many debates on YouTube,Twitter and Facebook on who is a black person.  It’s  a hot topic that just wont seem to go away.  I think the fact that people are debating it must mean many of us are still very confused.  Why is that?  Why is the black collective so confused about our own identity?  The video(above) is really good.  I know for some it might seem offensive.  But you can tell that the speaker has really analyzed this issue.  It’s a very touchy subject that most black people want to run away from.

Black People1...

This picture(above) shows different African women around the world. And of course there are people of African descent in America,Canada and the United Kingdom.  Some people say many of us are mixed raced people.  Some say we come in different shades because of years of race mixing.  I will address race mixing in part two of this series.  I personally don’t think race mixing is good for the black collective.  It seems to cause more confusion more than anything else. But I guess the real question is how is a black person defined? What do Africans look like?  How are Africans classified?

African features...

Black family...

Fellow blogger C.C. Saunders stated this about blackness:

“Blackness is not limited to a skin color, but it is a state of being, an incomparable experience prompted by skin color, facial features, body type and hair texture. Omitting any identifying attribute allots a significant privilege absent from the lifetime of any black person possessing these attributes in entirety. However, melanin, while a chief component of blackness, does not encompass the totality of blackness. To distinguish between black and melanated is essential to understanding blackness as a collective identity.”

Blogger Amos Magazine said this about African people:

“Prior to the enslavement of West and Central Africans, Africans had certain traits and certain biological markers that made them a separate distinct group. Africans prior to 1500 and prior to the infamous fictitious Willie Lynch Letter had traitsAfricans prior to the invasion of Arabs, Berbers and other West Asian people had skin color from brown to dark brown. This is an African trait. Africans had one common hair texture. Yes, Europeans upon arriving  in what today is called Rwanda did notice that many Africans were a lighter shade of Brown from other Africans. But they were not yellow or near white. They were simply a pecan brown color as compared to the dark chocolate color of the other group. They used these slight differences in order to pit one group against on another. Today, DNA* test (* because there are holes in this science) show that the Hutu and Tutsi were actually the same people and that Hutu and Tutsi were actually social status. Now Negros will use to in order to say mulattoes are Africans. ***(3star concepts mean this is something to pay special attention to) ***The Tutsi who were divided into people of a lighter hue of brown were not products of mixed raced sexual relationships. My opponents will purposely leave this out in order to compare a mulatto vs. an authentic African or an authentic disasporic Africans.”

Blogger Bhekizitha breaks it down from a biological standpoint:

“An African / Black person is clearly visually a “close” descendant of people from East Africa, a region comprised of countries now known as Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda. Their color variation ranges from bronze, dark reddish-brown, dark or nut brown, dark-chocolate color plus “peppercorn” hair.”

This video(above) is very interesting.  I first saw this video about four years ago.  It’s the author Supreme Understanding. He has authored books such as How to Hustle and Win,Knowledge of Self and Black God.  I’ve read a few of his books.  I must admit that he knows quite a bit about black history and African culture.  But he’s not African…he’s an Indian man.  Years ago I remember seeing him in a picture with his black wife.  In this video he says that being black is color,culture and consciousness. So he’s saying it’s not just physical traits that make you black.  So if a Mexican,Indian or Asian man listens to rap music,studies African culture and has a black wife…..that makes him black? So it’s just about having a black consciousness? This can create a problem in the long run.

What is Black....

This picture(above) is from Supreme Understanding’s website.  It’s titled What is Black? Looking at the pictures you can see all these dark skinned people from India,China,Pacific Islands,Malaysia and Australia. But are these people really Africans? Or do they have racial admixture? Were the original inhabitants of Australia or India really Africans? And if so,what does it mean for black people today?  I think black people really like to be all inclusive.  We like hearing that our ancestors were all over the world and created civilizations.  That’s very true to a large extent.  And to many of us we have a dream of creating some type of racial utopia.  A world in which all people who have some melanin are brothers and sisters.  But this is not reality.  There will always be racial and cultural divisions.   Just because you have dark skinned people in India and Malaysia doesn’t mean they can relate to a black person in America.  The culture of a dark skinned Aborigine in Australia is totally different than a black person living in Jamaica.  I always promote black unity,black love and black power on this blog.  But you can’t have any type of unity if you can’t even decide who is black and who is not black.  How can you have any type of cohesiveness when there are no clear cut definitions on your identity? And this is why the video by Supreme is problematic.  He believes that all “people of color” are fighting against a white power structure. Therefore we are all in this fight together.  But my thinking is that why can’t we fight a racist society and still maintain our own unique racial identity. Why does everyone with a little bit of color have to be considered black?  By making everyone black…no one is really black.  Our unique blackness gets lost in the process.  Chinese people don’t have this problem.  They don’t accept just anyone who might have their physical traits.  I’ve seen Hispanics with a yellowish skin tone but they are not seen as Chinese.  I’ve seen people that were biracial(Black/Chinese) with slanted eyes.  But just because they had slanted eyes,Chinese people still don’t see them as one of them. By doing this it helps them stay homogeneous.  They are able to maintain their racial identity.  And this is something black/African people must keep in mind when want to distinguish ourselves from other groups.  By letting anyone claim “blackness” it devalues those that are black in the process.

41 thoughts on “Who is an African/Black person?- Black Genetics(Part 1 of 4)

  1. You make a great point, KP. Melanin does not necessarily equal Blackness, yet blackness becomes inconsequential without melanin. Go figure. Obviously it’s more to that equation.

    • Yes I see what you mean MM. I think many people are confused on what is blackness. The media bombards us with biracial people in television and films. We are the only group that accepts everyone. No other group does this. By accepting anyone with melanin it confuses our people. And hurts us because I have met many Brown-skinned Mexicans and Indians who let me know they were not my allies. Everyone that has a little melanin is not your brother or sister. This “we are the world” fantasy has got to end. For black people to survive we need to deal in reality. At this point I don’t care if others get offended. All I care about is us having clarity so we can move forward.

  2. Great post Kushite,someone should tell to WP they ain’t African! They aren’t African and they will never be!
    I know for their mentality is so fragile because it’s hard for them accept the fact,they are Neanderthal mean no human!
    I know there is these epidemics of wanna be black on “white community!”but they aren’t my brother or sister!
    Doesn’t matter if they live in Africa or speak African language,for me what make you black is your “DNA!”.
    I don’t need other dark skinned people be my allies or friends,I know deep inside them,they have African ancestry!
    The last pictures said everything,I believe the other black groups living today are African descendant!
    Who left African

    • So true Nubian! Everyone wants to imitate black culture. They want to use our slang,our music and our swagger. They want all the coolness of being black…but they don’t want the suffering,oppression and pain of being black.

  3. This is what happen when we accept the “one drop rule” we have difficulties identifying whose black. It causes confusion. Prime example we have biracial’s like Lauren London then we have multiracial’s like Vanessa Williams that have African ancestry but she comes from a mix background. If you have to question the race of someone that clearly should tell you their not apart of your race especially when they don’t look like you. When I think of the physical traits of a black African I picture brown to darker skin complexion with kinky Afro texture hair.

    • You’re very welcome CC. Of course I’m your biggest fan so I had to throw your quote in there.lol I just wanted to address this issue a bit because people have been asking about this for years. So I figured I’d touch on it. Many times we shy from issues like this. But no healing can be done if we don’t address these things head on. Thanks for the comment.

  4. Did you see this clown? She was all over the news and black YouTube were talking about this monster!
    I know some followers will find this picture disturb but they need to be expose!

  5. Kushite, Negress a few weeks was talking that a lot of whites are trying to marry black because their ultimate goal is to control or have a say in the African continent. Africa in has more natural resources than the rest of the planet by itself & in 20 years Africa will surpass the US & China as the largest economy in the world. GOD BLESS

  6. Kushite, did you hear that a black construction company will be replacing the lead pipes in Flint, Michigan. GOD is telling us that we need to look to him & take care of ourselves. Remember, be careful,Trump has reversed Obama decisions on prison sentences & funding the private prison system. Be careful family. GOD BLESS

  7. I’m a full bloodied African and I can tell most of us are mixed. Yet, create shades of different colours. I have hair that looks like an Arab but I don’t have Arab/white ancestors.

    • That’s very interesting you say that. Most black people have tightly coiled African textured hair. Black people who have lanky straight hair is the minority. Shouldn’t the majority hair texture be seen as the norm and the other hair texture the exception?

      • @ Kushite Prince
        100% agreed!!!!
        Kinky hair should be the normal hair texture for our people but over the years of being condition with self hate wavy, curly, lanky straight hair is consider the good hair an normal.

    • Then I doubt you’re African. Africa has never been an impenetrable fortress, and there has been back-migrations to the continent. These back-migrations, might have featured peoples who had straight/wavy hair, that being said, they were probably dark-skinned, like Dravidians, hence why you find people in Africa with straight & wavy hair, but still very dark skin.

  8. Welcome Back!

    Interesting post. I couldn’t watch the video just yet, but I’m glad you put ‘mix’ in there. I’ll need to read the whole series–but so far I have to admit I used to be of the crowd that was all phenotype; but I can’t say as much anymore knowing that all of my Brothers are a different shade, as well as my Uncles and Aunts, and other relatives. Are we Africans? Yes. But can you shake a cracker out of our family tree? I’d hate to admit it.

    I’d usually go by greater than 50% though.

    • Thanks for the comment. Read all four parts then let me know what you think. I understand it’s a complicated issue for many of us. But it’s an issue that needs to be addressed so that we can have some clarity.

  9. Being African means nothing if it’s not an exclusive club. I don’t agree with everything that Bekhizitha says, but as far as phenotype is concerned, you’d have to have African Textured Hair and medium to the darkest shade of brown skin complexion if I’m going to regard “you” as being a fellow African.

    We MUST be EXCLUSIVE!

  10. I say anyone who is African has to have two black parents with substantial African DNA i.e. both parents should be more than 50% black ( ideally 75% or more). This other stuff like well so in so is black since they are 25% black is ridiculous. Even if they look more than 25% it is still not accurate.

    • That’s why I wanted to get rid of the confusion. At this point the one drop rule is outdated and should be thrown out. It just causes more confusion in the minds of our people. It does more harm than good. That’s why I wanted to get some clarity on this subject and hear people’s opinion. Thanks for the comment Kowaba.

      • Thank you for your reply, Kushite Prince! I have frequented your blog in the past and I don’t know if you remember me. I am mixed race (American Born Chinese mother, Afro-Trini father). With my experience of looking ambiguous and being considered a different race depending on what country I am in or what community I am in in the United States, I can tell you definitively that mixed race people are not black. They are only part black.

        Several months ago, when I went to the hospital, the hospital asked for my racial background. I definitely said African American. When they gave me my records back they had a bell curve with the norm of black people. Interesting enough I wasn’t within the norm in any of the parameters; in all aspects I was in the outlier minimum range.

        Now I don’t know if this is because my father is Caribbean and their genetics are different. I would attribute it to my mother’s genetics as well. I was reading somewhere that the high blood pressure in the black community is related to how the mother of the offspring can process salt. It, high blood pressure, actually is not affected by salt intake. For your information, my father and his family have high blood pressure. My mother has low blood pressure and I’ve had doctors that tell me that my results are the same as hers.

        Finally, there is a software that one can use to input a photo and the software will tell you what your possible genetics is. I decided to see what the software pegged me as. Surprisingly these were the results: 66% Asian, 14% Hispanic, 12% Black, 7% other, and 0% white. I had my hair in an Afro, so I thought that would make my black percentage even higher. I have also purchased a DNA test for both me and my father. I will do this DNA test to see further what the genetic breakdown of my background is and see if it corresponds to those results from the picture.

        My point to all of this is: Black Americans have adhered so much to the one drop rule and have sworn to me that I look 100% black – just light skin. If this is the case, why have I had many experiences where people can tell right away that I am mixed. Heck, during my time in France I wasn’t even considered black, but only mixed race!

      • Yeah I remember you. You’ve left comments before. That was a nice breakdown of your family and genetics. I definitely feel you on the one drop rule. I’m glad a lot of people are agreeing with me. I know this tends to be a very controversial topic. Thanks for leaving a great comment.

Leave a Reply

