Muhammad Ali,Kobe,Jordan,Mayweather:What makes an athlete great?

MJ1...

Kobe1..

Since the passing of boxing icon Muhammad Ali, I’ve been thinking about black athletes a lot.  Since blacks have been playing sports we have dominated pretty much sport every sport we enter.  I had a recent discussion with a friend of mine.  I asked him why we liked Ali so much.  He said that Ali spoke up for black people at a very unpopular time in America.  He also said that Ali stuck to his convictions even if others disagreed with him.  This is something I hear over and over again.  Of course has Ali got older the white media has whitewashed his image.  They just say he was fighting for civil rights and refused to fight in the Vietnam war due to his religious beliefs.  Ali got a lot of hate from white and black Christians because he was a Muslim.  But there were those that did respect that he did have the right to practice whatever religion he chooses.  But since his death the media doesn’t bring up his controversial views on black power,injustice,interracial marriage and inequality.  They tend to gloss over all that. They do this because many whites feel detached from his era.  They feel that Ali could complain about racism and inequality because of segregation.   That’s why many whites say they admire Ali.  But if you were to repeat some of the things Ali said…they would hate you.  It’s because they believe racism is not a big problem anymore.  Overt racism maybe gone to a degree.  But racism is alive and well.

Great athletes..

Back in the day black athletes at least had the guts to speak out when black people were mistreated.  The photo(above) is from a press conference in 1967.  NFL great Jim Brown held a conference in support of Ali refusing to fight in the Vietnam War. NBA stars  like Bill Russell and Kareem Abdul Jabbar came out to support.  This is why many black people respect these men for speaking out in a show of solidarity with Ali.

What makes an athlete great?  An athlete must have speed,agility,and strength.  Ali seemed to posses all of these qualities.  After years of practice he had perfected the craft of boxing.  Many times he could anticipate the move of his opponent.

Michael Jordan is considered the greatest basketball player of all time.  Jordan had amazing hang time on the court.  He was very quick and could get an easy dunk on pretty much anyone. He was a six time NBA Champion,rookie of the year and 14 time NBA All Star.

Floyd1...

Then there is undefeated boxing champ Floyd Mayweather.  He is a great technical fighter and great defender in the ring.  The brother is a great fighter,you can’t take that away from him. He does come off brash and cocky and that’s one of the reasons people don’t like him. But he really love to show off his money and all the expensive cars he has. He seems to really love showing his opulence at any given moment.  I know that Ali did a picture posing on a stacks of money as well.  And I realize that many whites hate seeing rich and successful black people.  I’m not ignorant of the fact.  But at least Ali did balance his cocky attitude with speaking out on racial and political. Much like Ali,Mayweather   knows many people don’t like it when he does this.  He does  alot of it on purpose to get under people’s skin. I’m all for black people being successful and making money.  Lord knows it’s a struggle to make it in this racist society. But is Mayweather about anything deeper?  I just wish the brother had a little more substance. Does he care about the plight of his people?

Kobe2..

Then you have athletes like Kobe Byant who rarely speak out on race issues. A few years ago NFL great Jim Brown called him out on the Arsenio Hall show. Brown stated:

“He’s somewhat confused about our culture. Because he was brought up in another country…If I had to invite people to that [black athlete] summit all over,” Brown said, referring to a summit held in the early 70s regarding Muhammed Ali’s refusal to fight in the Vietnam War, “there’d be some athletes I wouldn’t call. He’d be one of them.”

I agree with Jim Brown.  Of course Kobe didn’t like that too much so he made a statement

Kobe’s statement:

“It surprised me in the sense that it came out of left field. I’ve never even met him. It came out of left field. But I do think it’s a great opportunity to have this conversation, to have this discussion. No matter where you come from, whether you come from Italy, whether you come from Inglewood (a Los Angeles neighborhood), whether you come from London, it doesn’t matter. Ultimately the conversation is that it doesn’t matter what color skin you are to begin with. But I think it’s a good place to start and have a good conversation.”

“There’s nothing to talk about. We have different perceptions and different views on that, clearly. The thing I’ve tried to do is I’ve tried to educate our youth going forward, no matter what color skin you are, African-American or white or whatever the case may be. Just try to talk about having a bright future going forward and how to help the kids and progress as a society as a whole. He and I, there’s no reason for us to try to have a conversation. We’re on opposite sides of the spectrum. I’m an old dog, but he’s a much older dog and a lot more set in his ways than I am.”

Can you believe this guy? Kobe is living in a fantasy world.  This guy thinks the world is colorblind and racism is not a big issue anymore.  Maybe he thinks this way because he makes millions of dollars,has a Mexican wife and mixed race children. But he needs to come back to reality.  Have you ever heard Kobe speak about the killing of Trayvon Martin? Has Mayweather spoke about the death of Sandra Bland?  Have you heard Michael Jordan speak about the killing of Tamir Rice or Ayiana Jones??  Nope!  Nothing bit silence.  After Ali’s death Jordan released a statement:

“Muhammad Ali was bigger than sports and larger than life. He said he was ‘The Greatest’ and he was right. He was the greatest of his era in the ring and a global icon in sports. I was a kid during his prime, but I remember some of his epic fights and his incredible style. My sincerest condolences go out to his wife, Lonnie, his kids and family.”

You noticed he didn’t say Ali was an inspiration or an example to follow.  It’s because they don’t want to follow his example.  They don’t have the guts and self respect to speak out on behalf of their people. Most of them are just happy to get a paycheck and be athletic coons.

Rose...

Although I will give some props to Chicago Bulls player Derrick Rose.  After the racist NYPD choked Eric Garner to death he wore a ” I Can’t Breathe” T-shirt. After he did it many other NBA players did it.

Lakers...png

Heat....jpg

And after the Trayvon Martin not  guilty verdict NBA star Lebron James got the Miami heat team to wear hoodies in protest.  At least Lebron tried to speak out in some fashion.  What did Kobe Bryant say? This fool actually challenged Lebrons stance.  This is what he said:

“I won’t react to something just because I’m supposed to, because I’m an African American,” he said. “That argument doesn’t make any sense to me. So we want to advance as a society and a culture, but, say, if something happens to an African American we immediately come to his defense? Yet you want to talk about how far we’ve progressed as a society? Well, we’ve progressed as a society, then don’t jump to somebody’s defense just because they’re African American. You sit and you listen to the facts just like you would in any other situation, right? So I won’t assert myself.”

Kobe is a bootlicking sellout for that comment!   Could you imagine Ali making a statement like that?  Never!  This is why Ali is greater than Kobe,Jordan and Mayweather.  You have to do more than just put on a hoodie or t-shirt.  You have to be willing to sacrifice yourself for the greater cause.  Most athletes today have no backbone and are scared of making their white masters angry.  If you want to be an inspiration to your people you must do more than just be a gifted athlete.

Ali2...

Check out the video above.  Listen to what Ali tells the two white women.  He tells them the truth and they don’t like it!  Could you imagine a black athlete saying those things today?  I can’t think of too many that would.  Some say Ali was just a product of the time.  Maybe so,but we needed someone on his level that had the courage to speak TRUTH to power.  And we still need people like that today.  Our people are still catching HELL in 2016.  Don’t let the media fool you by their whitewashing of Ali’s image.  Ali loved his people and that’s what he will be remembered for the most.  I wish more black singers,athletes,actors and rappers would speak out on our oppression.  That’s what makes someone great in the eyes of their people. What’s greatness?

Ali Birthday Boxing

Be the greatest at standing for righteousness.

Be the greatest at giving hope to the helpless.

Be the greatest at having courage and dignity.

Be the greatest at having self respect.

Be the greatest at loving your African heritage.

Be the greatest at speaking for those that can’t speak for themselves.

Be the greatest inspiration for your people.

Be the greatest at having compassion but a warrior when the time is needed.

Be great at protecting your family and community.

Be great at protecting the innocent.

Be great at having self confidence.

Be great at having self discipline.

Be a great champion for justice and liberation.

Be great at speaking truth to power.

Ali4....jpg

Being a great athlete means you have certain God-given abilities. Along with hard work and dedication you can become great at your craft.  Being able to throw a punch,dunk a basketball,run very fast and jump very high….is very impressive. But to be truly great takes a little more than that in my opinion.  And this is why black people will always love and respect Ali.

Rest in Power Ali.

39 thoughts on “Muhammad Ali,Kobe,Jordan,Mayweather:What makes an athlete great?

  1. Please leave Micheal Jordan and other self-hatred coon black athletes out! They don’t deserve to be close a legend like Muhammed Ali! He was very
    respectable man,he wasn’t coward like these idiots, they only care about themselves and they are ready to run after a white women asses!
    He fought for black cause,he refused to fight for Vietnam War and he lost his titles as champion!
    Today black people are deeply confused,you still black in front of white eyes despite which religion you follow,doesn’t matter you still black,religion doesn’t change your skin or your melanin!
    Micheal Jordan is only good when self-hatred black man talks about white men racism but not white women!
    Please close the door for these coons!

    • Thank you Nubian. That was the point of the post. I wanted people to understand the definition of being a great athlete and being a great human being. A lot of young black fans weren’t around during Ali’s time. They don’t know what it means to stand up for your people. And to be an inspiration for them.

  2. I have so much respect for Muhumadd Ali, because one thing for sure he spoke out for his people as well as respected black women. The brother kept a positive image in the spotlight, and kept his personal issues private. He stood up as a BLACK MAN protecting/defending his black community as a black man without making excuses blaming the black woman. One thing for sure Muhumadd Ali never place other races of women above his own. Also he was a alpha male that express what he feels without giving a damn about anyone’s opinions. This black man was so much respected in his community that he can walk in any black hood being famous as he is without being attack because he was respected. A lot of these black male athletes can’t even do that without being attack.

  3. If Michael Jordan or Kobe Bryant or even Floyd Mayweather died today, do you honestly think I’d even do a ‘pingback’ of somebody else’s blog about that mess? Hell no! If they want those Mexican and white sluts, they are welcome to them! Those sell-outs have long since left the Black community and ain’t looked back and those sluts can have ’em because I don’t care how much their ‘net’ worth is, their true worth is less than ZERO!

    None can compare to Muhammad Ali! Not one! Muhammad Ali, THE GREATEST, EVER!!!!!!!

  4. I didn’t care that Ali died. I think he was a great boxer and heavyweight. I will care more Vick died than Ali. Ali, in my honest opinion used the Black Power Movement because he didn’t want to risk his life in Nam. White middle class Liberals were being drafted to Nam….The Weather Underground led by Bill Ayers were bombing building…crakcers didn’t even want to bust that gun because Genera Giap put something on the USA ass.
    I think Ali is the greatest heavyweight ever. I think hes a top 5 boxer of all time. I love him as an athlete but he is no Icon and he did nothing for me or other Black athletes. He was simply made a big star by the White Liberal media. Ali use to degrade Joe Fraizer who was a simple minded negro who refused to fight for Ali title until he was restored. Frazier even loaned him millions. Ali called that beautiful Black man a gorilla in front of the White media. Then he turned his back on Malcolm X….Ali was running around with White celebrities and marrying on fair skinned women. Stop acting like this guy represented Black power.

    • I agree,I think he’s probably in the top five if not best ever. I have been debating with family and friends about Ali and what he represented. He was a polarizing figure in life and even after death. Ali had his flaws of course. I may not agree with everything he did but at least he spoke up for blacks in a time when many did not. Was his black power mentality an act??? I doubt someone would put on an “act” for over fifty years. If that’s the case we can say any athlete we disagree with is just putting on an act. I think he had a huge cultural impact on black people. Even though I am not a Muslim I can still respect what he tried to say and do.
      I saw you and Bhekizitha debating about Malcolm X. I see that things can get easily sidetracked when talking about public figures. We don’t have to agree on everything. I’m my own man. I blog about what I choose to. And you blog about what you want on yours. But I don’t let anyone dictate to me what I can and can not blog about. And if you disagree on a topic you don’t have to comment at all. That’s what I do many times.It’s all love though. Peace.

      • We didn’t debate Malcolm X at all. He claims that Elijah Muhammad didn’t father children with teenagers and then said he wanted to see a police report. I don’t have time for insane shit like that.

      • It’s not serious at all in my book. I am going to write my articles and plot with the people I have vetted thats around me. One person don’t stop me or my commitment to my ideals or the great Africans who came before me.

      • I hear what you’re saying. Believe me I hear you. You just have to keep pushing forward. I’ve already got my family straight. And I’ve linked up with old high school friends. We have to get our minds right and stay committed. The little disagreements don’t sway me. As long as we of like minds see the bigger picture I think we’ll be okay.

      • Little things I ignore but things I view as cracks in the character of a person I get rid of the person from around me for good. I give a person 1 time with me. Once you cross that line, you are done with me. People give you warning of who they are before they fuck you.

      • Now that is a FACT for sure. It’s funny you bring that up. I’m currently working on a post about conversations of anti-blackness and self hatred I’ve had over the years. It is really a sickness among many of our people.

      • I been burned too many times…I never liked fire to begin with. But you are correct. I am going to get more and more serious with my writing and Biological African Nationalism. This is very important. But I am not going to be a sucker for anyone…I called the ZaZa Ali thing non sense before anyone even saw it. I have predicted lots of things I been wrong about a few things when it came to the US Elections because I though Bush would win because he had the most money. And by how the Republicans are acting towards Trump they felt the same way.

      • I’ve been burned too many times to count. But you live and learn. This election year with Trump has been a good thing. I think Trump has actually helped wake up the black zombies among us. Many black people can’t believe all the whites that love Trump. But those of us in the know are not surprised. We know whites have never changed. Integration changed nothing..it actually hurt us. But at least now many are waking from their colorblind slumber. And hopefully they are ready to deal with reality.

    • @ amoswilsonuniversity

      I’m going to have to response to your statement because you did bring up information that I have to really think about. These two statements you mention “Ali, in my honest opinion used the Black Power Movement because he didn’t want to risk his life in Nam” & ” He was simply made a big star by the White Liberal media.” One thing I notice at Ali funeral was that he had more famous white celebrities & non black people speaking then black celebrities. You would have thought at least Jim Brown or Don King would have been one of the speakers but no. It also make you question Jim Brown & Muhammad Ali friendship. Also in the end of the late 70’s, he became less militant. In the 80’s he wasn’t talking about black issues especially during the time of him being diagnose with parkinson disease. Just like Muhammad Ali & other black militants they fail for the illusion that black people have made it to the promise land and stop talking about black issues.

      Here’s another statment you made “I think hes a top 5 boxer of all time. I love him as an athlete but he is no Icon and he did nothing for me or other Black athletes.” Muhammad Ali was outspoken about issues that needed to be address but what actual work has he put in the black community that made a change.
      Here is something else I question about Muhammad Ali having relationship with underage females.
      Muhamad Ali & wife Lonnie as a child. Ali stated in Jet Magazine during a interview when he met Lonnie he was 21 years of age & Lonnie 6 & a half years of age that “I knew one day she be mine.”

      He married Belinda Boyd (Khalilah Ali) at the age of 17 years old when he was 25 years old.

      barbara mensah & Ali had an affair in 1967. Ali met the 17-year-old high school beauty in Houston, Texas. She’s one of his outside children mother’s.

      Veronica who met Muhammad Ali at the age of 18 years and end up marrying him

      Wanda Bolton (Aaisha Ali) at the age of 16 years old gave birth to Muhammad Ali daughter Khaliah in 1974.

      Temica Williams was a 12 year old mistress of Muhammad Ali that end up pregnant. Back in the early 80’s it was a lawsuit about this case.
      https://books.google.com/books?id=m7ADAAAAMBAJ&pg=PA29&lpg=PA29&dq=muhammad+ali+%26+temica+williams&source=bl&ots=9JEyyuJUa5&sig=HESJlHNM6NVmQmL-jwrfd2bBd6s&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiggIy5mp_NAhVK74MKHc8_DN4Q6AEILzAD#v=onepage&q=muhammad%20ali%20%26%20temica%20williams&f=false
      https://books.google.com/books?id=zEADAAAAMBAJ&pg=PA16&lpg=PA16&dq=muhammad+ali+%26+temica+williams&source=bl&ots=BWzbu9Udez&sig=YRjPcp_M9ne4G4Y8VFhVis38ZW0&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiggIy5mp_NAhVK74MKHc8_DN4Q6AEIMTAE#v=onepage&q=muhammad%20ali%20%26%20temica%20williams&f=false

      Muhumadd Ali spoke out on interracial dating but 3 of his daughters are married or have children by non black men.

      Muhammad Ali memorial service some of the videos are missing other parts.

      • Men have always preferred younger women and women like older powerful men. I like Floyd Mayweather but I am not going to shed a single tear if he dies. I don’t know him. Same with Lebron and others…Entertainers are Entertainers….but people like Dr Bobby E Wright, Dr Amos N Wilson, Dr Chinweizu those are people whom I would cry if they died..People are were figthing to open the brains of African peoples……I don’t dislike Ali though I think he was a bit bioted towards Blacks. I KNOW he used the Black Power Movement…Dr. CLarke spoke about how Blacks use us for their own good.. I would not went to Nam either…but you have to understand the politics of that day….Bill Ayers, Weather Undergroud…The USA was sending Middle CLass Whites to nam…Ali was their champion because he didnt want to bust that gun..remember Bill Clinton DUCKED THE DRAFT.

      • I like him because he is honest about being anti African and anti Black women. He is not faking the funk like so many others. You don’t have to like me or African women…He is the type of person I don’t mind not agreeing with because he has no filter. I know where i stand.

      • Yes he has no filter. But at least he’s honest,I can respect that. But this reminds me. I had a co-worker that was a black Hebrew. He didn’t like African people very much. Do you think it’s possible to build with black people that don’t accept Africans? How is that possible? If we are all part of the African diaspora…how do you discount an entire continent like that.

      • I don’t care if you like me, if you hate White people and I hate White people we will build on our hate of Whites and wanting to overthrow White power. We need different poles of Black power. The black hebrews/muslims can build their nations as long as they are anti White and have no IMAs in power we can be seperate but trade and have some communications on our hate of the White race.

  5. Its funny people calling Michael Jordan a self hating coon…but Ali dated White women or fair skinned women and ran to Ireland claiming he was Irish. Ali was a good actor and the Black Power act and the graceful old man act was that an act.

    • White people loved him after he was sick and had MS. He couldn’t speak like he used to so of course they were cool with him then. But back in the 60’s they hated Ali. My grandfather and uncles told they that whites could not stand Ali. The media just wants to whitewash his image like they always do. They even have racist Bill Clinton and comedian Billy Crystal speaking at his funeral. WTF???? Nothing these white folks do surprise me. Ali claimed he was Irish????? Never heard that one. You’ll have to show me that one. But I do think Ali got softer as he got older. I think he just wanted to be remembered. I like the young Ali much better.

    • Yes I know how the racist white media operates. I know how they twist things. I was just comparing these modern athletes to Ali. And what he went through during his era. Thanks for the video.

Leave a Reply

