NWA Film promotes self hatred and gangster mentality! I miss the old Ice Cube!

NWA Film

There’s been a lot of talk about the new biopic about rap group NWA. The film is called Straight Outta Compton. It’s been getting a lot of buzz the last few months. Being from the west coast I grew up listening to NWA as a teenager. All my friends loved the way they spoke about the gangster lifestyle in Compton,California. As a kid I wasn’t that socially aware of what NWA was really putting into my mind.  It wasn’t so much the profanity. I heard people cursing at home with family and friends.  It was more what image NWA was showing to the world.  Their music promoted black self-hate,drug and alcohol abuse,disrespect of black women and sexual promiscuity. Yes they really were NIggaz With Attitudes. But they basically promoted a lot of negative racial stereotypes. I know there will be those who will say…what about their most famous song F*ck Tha Police? Yes that was a groundbreaking song back in 1988. It highlighted how the racist police brutalize and kill black people.  I give them some props for bringing that to light.  As we all know the cops are still killing black people and not much as changed in that regard.  But even with that in mind,they still promoted the image of the black thug to the world. They got rich in the process and became household names.  But I can’t let them totally off the hook.  As I got older I started listening to other rappers from the east coast.  I liked a lot of the more pro-black,Afrocentric rappers. Rappers like Public Enemy,Brand Nubian,X Clan,KRS ONE,Jungle Brothers,Poor Righteous Teachers,A Tribe Called Quest,Black Sheep,De La Soul and Queen Latifah. Some of you may not be that familiar with these groups. I suggest you look them up.  I became drawn to these more socially conscious rappers who spoke about black pride and loving your African heritage. And I loved when Public Enemy released Fight The Power.  It’s still a very powerful song to this day. So where is the Public Enemy film??  I don’t think the powers that be will ever make one. The racist whites/Jews that run Hollywood don’t want to promote a film about a group that is trying  to WAKE UP black people. A group that doesn’t glorify anti-blackness,gangster attitudes and calling ourselves niggas.  That is the real reason this NWA film is being made.  It’s to keep instilling self-hatred into black minds.  That’s what Hollywood does best.

The group consisted of Dr. Dre,Ice Cube,Eazy E,DJ Yella and MC Ren. I’m sure the men and their families are glad their story is being told.  But I suspect it will be seriously watered down so that middle America(white) can enjoy it. It will be very sanitized in my opinion. Ice Cube was one of the primary writers of the group. I always thought he was the most talented behind the mic. While Dre was the master producer.  I miss the old Ice Cube though. When he left the group and went solo he had come groundbreaking albums. Albums like Death Certificate,Amerikkka’s Most Wanted,The Predator and Lethal Injection. But over the last ten years he’s really gotten soft. He has started doing films like Barbershop,Are We There Yet,21 Jump Street and Ride Along.  A bunch of silly ass Hollywood films. He was so outspoken in the early 1990’s. His music used to get me hyped up.  He wasn’t afraid to speak his mind about racism,police brutality and dissing The President if he felt like it.  Now he’s a complete Hollywood sellout! I don’t think I’ll be supporting this film. I think I’ll keep my money.

I used to love this song called True to The Game.  It’s funny to listen to now because it sounds like he’s almost describing himself.  He’s become  just another Hollywood sellout coon!

I’m glad Khalid Muhammad put his ass on blast!!!

37 thoughts on “NWA Film promotes self hatred and gangster mentality! I miss the old Ice Cube!

  1. WOW! Great post, like always. I appreciate your west coast opinion. Let me ask you tho: do you think that Ice Cube has maybe felt as if he got his original message and intent out and now he’s like “f** it, let’s get this money for the family”? I completely see your POV & why you’ll be keeping your $$ to yourself.

    • Thanks GG. I’m glad you liked the post. I do feel a little let down by Cube. He used to be so hardcore with his message. He gave NO apologies at all. I understand he has a beautiful wife and kids now. We all mellow out a bit as we age. With age comes wisdom. But we are still struggling as a people. The revolution and fight for our liberation is not over. Whether we get older or not isn’t the issue. I think Cube got a taste of that Hollywood money and just said screw it, I’m just going to get paid! That’s pretty much what he did. Much like how rapper Common used to be. He was much more socially conscious and spoke up for black people. Now Common as flip-flopped also. He’s also doing big budget films now. That’s what always happens. Money,fame and greed can make a person forget their roots and where they came from. It’s all about the $$$$ right??

      • wow, yes…well said. People do grow mellow as they age, and it really is all about the money in the end. SMH. It’s crazy when you follow these people from the beginning and watch them morph into this new polished model of themselves. I’m sitting here wondering “am I being too hard on them?” but no, they really are changing for a dollar. Thanks for this.

      • Thanks. I’m sure there are those who will disagree with me. It’s just my perspective. Besides I hear it’s supposed to make a ton of money this weekend. I don’t think they’re worried about my opinion. But I’m giving it anyway.lol

      • Spare me! That obnoxious pig sold his soul a LONG time ago! Ice Cube is a blithering phony he went on The View of all things recently. He makes me sick him and old whiner asshole Ice-T

      • Yeah Cube sold us all out. He saw thoise dollar signs and forgot where he came from. Ice T is a damn fool! Back in the day he did a song called Cop Killer…now he plays a cop on Law & Order.lol He’s a joke! Now he has a talk show with his ugly ass wife Coco!lol

  2. No doubt NWA was poison to the minds of the young people when it came out. I was a hardcore PE fan until NWA came with what I thought was the real. I can remember listening to that poison and going out with just to look for some trouble to get into. I was out west at the time and there was plenty of trouble to be found. I had lost my Afrikan medallion and picked up a Raider hat and you couldn’t tell me a thing. FTP was our anthem and we lived that and all it got us was nothing.

    Now let’s talk about the movie; all I can remember is the casting call was so full of self-hatred with not really wanting dark skinned females until I just lost all interest in that coon fest. No thank you, I’ll pass on this vaudeville, blackface exercise in I hate Black people.

    Very good post Prince.

    • Thanks HLJ. I’m glad you felt where I was coming from. Of course growing up in Cali I heard NWA on every block. You couldn’t go anywhere without hearing NWA or Eazy E blasting from car radios. It was a sense of pride because they were from California. But of course you and I are both older and wiser now. We realize that this is just self hat and self destruction. This is mind pollution to our people. There are more uplifting stories we should be telling.
      As for the casting call?? I wasn’t tripping on the light-skinned women cast as Ice Cube and Dre’s wives. They are light-skinned in real life. But that casting call for the other women was disgraceful. I remember it well.
      A GIRLS: These are the hottest of the hottest. Models. MUST have real hair – no extensions, very classy looking, great bodies. You can be black, white, asian, hispanic, mid eastern, or mixed race too. Age 18-30. Please email a current color photo, your name, Union status, height/weight, age, city in which you live and phone number to: SandeAlessiCasting@gmail.com subject line should read: A GIRLS

      B GIRLS: These are fine girls, long natural hair, really nice bodies. Small waists, nice hips. You should be light-skinned. Beyonce is a prototype here. Age 18-30. Please email a current color photo, your name, Union status, height/weight, age, city in which you live and phone number to: SandeAlessiCasting@gmail.com subject line should read: B GIRLS

      C GIRLS: These are African American girls, medium to light skinned with a weave. Age 18-30. Please email a current color photo, your name, Union status, height/weight, age, city in which you live and phone number to: SandeAlessiCasting@gmail.com subject line should read: C GIRLS

      D GIRLS: These are African American girls. Poor, not in good shape. Medium to dark skin tone. Character types. Age 18-30. Please email a current color photo, your name,etc.
      Absolutely disgusting!!!!

  3. Ice Cube done melted somewhere! lol I love that! But on a serious note, is it a coincidence that PE just dropped a new single and video? I guess they didn’t want anyone dwelling on the real for too long.

    Great insight as always.

  4. I never used to pay attention to rappers in general, I used to think that’s what they were all like. But I’m gonna Google those conscious ones.
    Ah, that’s where the spelling Amerikkka came from!

    • Definitely look those rappers up. I have a few old X Clan,Public Enemy and Brand Nubian cd’s. It’s still great music to listen to. Totally different than most of the garbage rap music today.

  5. Again great post! When I first learned of that casting call last year I knew I knew then I wasn’t interested, lol. Dr. Khalid Muhammad is one of a kind. I like the metaphor, Ice Cube done melted somwhere, lol. But he was telling the God honest truth though. These Hollyweird Negroes start out on the Black Nationalist, Pro-Black Train then jump off when there is some money to be made. That’s why I come to the conclusion that we should NOT SUPPORT ANY BLACK PERSON IN HOLLYWEIRD NO MATTER IF THEY SAY THEY PRO BLACK cause 9 times out of 10 their either sold our or gettin ready to.

    • Selling your soul is part od the deal. It’s hard to make it to the $20 million club without doing it. I think guys like Wil Smith,Denzel and Samuel L. Jackson sold out a long time ago. Even though I admire their talent I have to face that harsh reality. The same goes for most of these big rappers too. NWA may have been a groundbreaking group but they also did a lot of harm to the black community in the process.

  6. Excellent post. The book “City of Quartz” mentioned how the concept of NWA was manufactured by White record execs and PR firms, whom were eager exploit the destructive circumstances occuring in our communities as well as creating a modern/contemporary stereotypical image of the Black male. In turn this image was sold to Whites who objectify and mythologize Black life in the inner city. That Jewish music manager, Jerry Heller (the brainchild behind NWA) has often detailed this marketing strategy within books and interviews.

    I enjoyed Ice Cube’s earlier work as well, but he’s always shown alot of double-talk and equivocation. Even in the 90’s (while not a registered member) he would present alot of NOI rhetoric, while at the same time promote St. Ides liquor. Khalid Muhammed was correct in exposing Cube because ultimately, he appropriated the NOI and/or it’s ideology only to then act counterproductively towards that institution and its members.

    • Thank you Kasai. I’ve never heard of the City of Quartz. I will definitely look up that book. I agree that Ice Cube is a walking contradiction. But he did have some good solo work earlier in his career. Before he went soft on us.

      • I forgot to mention the author of “City or Quartz” is Mike Davis. I just recently read it, although it was published in 1990. It gives an interesting perspective on the inner workings of Los Angeles. Definitely recommend the book.

  7. Here’s an interesting video by Boyce Watkins. I don’t always agree with him but he does make some good points regarding the NWA film. And the downside to their success in portraying negative stereotypes of black men as thugs and drug dealers.

  8. Good post Kushite Prince. I remember when I was growing up, I like to listen to BDP, Rakim, Ice-T, PE, Brand Nubians and dopest female MCs Lite and Money Love . Of course, you can’t forget Guru and Premier of Gangstarr, Tribe, DeLa, Jungle Bros, Paris, Wise Intellect of PRT, Black Sheep, omg remember Special Ed and Kwame. LOL FlashBack. Anyway, the point is that rap was cool. It was fun, political, fresh (the word of that time —KRS use to always end songs like that remember?)

    Then, all of a sudden I remember being at track practice and someone played NWA. I was really on their tip because F*** the Police made me angry at cops too. Now, I am not trying to start no rivalry and all that either but Common said it in I Used To Love Her and jokers got all mad. After NWA came out, rap changed. It seemed like everything became gangsta. You almost forgot that rap came out of New York, b/c they pushed Ghetto Boys, Luke and 2Live Crew, Too Short, etc. Now, I am not knocking any of these groups, just like I am not knocking NWA. They were pawns in a bigger game. They saw dollars and like any young Black or Latino male, you jump at it because of the lack of guidance and wisdom. It was just crazy that everything turned that way until I heard this guy DBrad and his account of what happened at BET. That’s when it all began to make sense that there are really some evil ppl out there who don’t give a damn about us killing each other, so long as they make their money. That dude Jerry Heller had no integrity b/c NWA wasn’t JWA (Jews with attitudes). I am not hating on jewish people. I am just saying that this guy pimped NWA point blank and the only way it is going to stop is when we start taking pride in who we are.

    I remember when ppl were talking about boycotting the Snoop, I thought that was stupid back then, but now I got some wisdom under my belt, I understand that the only reason these groups exist is b/c ppl support them. I will never forget that I was at homecoming in Prairie View and this pretty Sis was standing around at the block party but didn’t want to dance. Then when, AMG’s “Bitch Betta Have My Money” Came On, oh girl went wild. The point, if women would stop buying this type of music, it will change things as well.

    Black folks juju is rhythm and unfortunately b/c many of us don’t know this, we use it against one another. Hopefully, things will change and change soon. Anyway, great post.

    • Yeah I remember all those groups. The 80’s was the golden era of hip hop. I’m so glad I grew up in that era. X Clan,Public Enemy and KRS ONE were the real deal. Yeah I remember Special Ed and Kwame. Back then rappers had unique personalities. Now they’re all carbon copy gangster wannabes. Yeah I know DBrad. Thanks for those videos. I’ve seen the second one before but not the second one. NWA was both good and bad. They were revolutionary at the time. But now there are too many guys trying to be gangsters. Most never were gangsters to begin with. They are just playing characters to get paid. I think this film will make a lot of money. And it just helps to instill more negative stereotypes in the long run. What do you think the lasting effect will be from this film? Positive or negative?

  9. Love the article, I’m also very disappointed in Cube I loved him back in the day, the only good thing is, he’s his own boss. Check this article I think you might like ithttp://beansouptimes.com/arrested-developments-lead-singer-speech-thomas-shares-thoughts-on-straight-outta-compton/#sthash.30WTYISw.dpbs

  10. This is so true but it irks me that people will literally argue with about their role in the destruction of our people’s minds. Smh at them but this was a good a truthful post.

Leave a Reply

