Tales of Buffoonery : Episode 11( Common)

This is a video by Youtuber Mr SuperBoy. He makes some very valid points. Common was really slipping with these statements.

Common

I’ve always like Common as a rapper. He’s never been afraid to speak out on social issues that effect black people. He has always presented himself as a proud black man. And he’s impressed me lately with his acting skills. He’s a pretty talented actor in the films I’ve seen him in. But I think the money and fame has gotten to him. He’s starting to express some  of that “post racial” nonsense. He was on the Daily Show with John Stewart recently. Some of his statements on the show:

If we’ve been bullied, we’ve been beat down and we don’t want it anymore. We are not extending a fist and we are not saying, ‘You did us wrong.’ It’s more like, ‘Hey, I’m extending my hand in love,’” he said to host Jon Stewart. “Let’s forget about the past as much as we can and let’s move from where we are now. How can we help each other? Can you try to help us because we are going to try to help ourselves, too.”

To underscore his resolution, the Chicago native went on to state how focusing on racism from the past is similar to reiterating negative issues within relationships.

“Me as a black man, I’m not sitting there like, ‘Hey, white people, y’all did us wrong.’ We know that existed,” Common said. “I don’t even have to keep bringing that up. It’s like being in a relationship and continuing to bring up the person’s issues. Now I’m saying, ‘Hey, I love you. Let’s move past this. Come on, baby, let’s get past this.’”

Forget the past??? Forget the history of slavery,rape,lynching,Jim Crow?? Is he serious?? I think he’s saying what will make his masters in Hollywood happy. I think these statements are utterly ridiculous. This is what happens when black people who once had revolutionary type of thinking must compromise their belief system. I really liked Common. It pains me to have to put him in the buffoon category. Do you agree? Was Common really out of line with these statements?

39 thoughts on “Tales of Buffoonery : Episode 11( Common)

  1. I see this slave had made his way to the house… What a shame. I Was a very big fan of him too! #sigh another disappointment

    • Yeah I was really disappointed too. Common was always Afrocentric and dates only sistas. I’ve always given him props for that. He let me down with these statements. Looks like he just wants to keep getting paid and be in big budget films. He had to sacrifice his morals and ideals. A damn shame!!

    • You know HLJ,I’m really getting tired of these boot lickers. I never thought I would put Common in the same category as Don Lemon,Raven Symone and Charles Barkley. Like I said,I’m a big fan of his music. He’s made some great music back in the 90’s. But here at Kushite Kingdom we speak the truth. And his statements were buffoonery! Sorry Common.lol

      • I wont lie I like some of Kendrick’s music. He does have some lyrical skills. Much better than Drake,Lil Wayne,Kanye,T.I. and the rest of those rap clowns. Kendrick does talk about a lot of social issues like racism in his new cd. I haven’t heard the new cd though. But I did hear he made some comment about blacks killing blacks so why do we complain about cop violence. Or something similar to that. Is that what you’re talking about? That is borderline buffoonish behavior. But I heard he clarified those statements later on. I think he said they were taking out of context. I need to do a little more reserach on those statements.

  2. Common has been bought and paid for with receipts to match. Sorry, y’all.

    I was done with Common when he went on Oprah with Russell Simmons and Kevin Lyles defending the use of the N word in the (c)rap music in rotation today. I knew then that it was a wrap for him. That conscious stuff he debuted with was just an act.

  3. Yesterday I was watching a short interview of Common on TV One by Jazmine Simpkins (I believe that is her name) in which he was discussing his Oscar win. I was thinking to myself “Will Common will remain the same after this Oscar win”? Low and behold I come across this post and my question is answered. I’m disappointed, but not surprise. I noticed how a lot of these “conscious” black celebrities, especially men are turning coon. So yeah, it hurts but he will have to be put on the coon list.

  4. Here’s a thing, if the Jews didn’t forgive what the Nazis did in WWII, why the hell should we have to forgive what Caucasians has done to us and still doing it for centuries? Can just he say “It’s Enough already!” Common is trying to “smoke” the “peace pipe” with the White Elite but in the end they will strip him of every identity, belief and his self-esteem for the sake of the dollar. I’m honestly through with this, and sick of it. If they want to get along with me or anybody else who is black better acknowledge, respect us and leave us the hell alone.

  5. Hollywood is co-opting all our stars. The same ish happened with Queen Latifah, from conscious to cooning overningt! I remeber she used to model her whole image after Sharazad Ali, now she out there sporting blond weaves. I won’t be shocked when I see Common with a whit egirl on his arm.

    • You are so right Gat! And I really wish Latifah would just come out the closet. We all know she’s gay by now. Common with a white girl??? Hmmm…you never know. Stranger things have happened.lol

  6. Here is a good video about Common and Raven Symone. Be forewarned — there is a lot of profanity used here.

  7. I understand what you all are saying. And I agree to a point. I want to be brief but also get my point across. For me to do this you have to suspend your disbelief and just go along with my argument.

    Let’s assume that reincarnation is real. Now in your life now you are a black person in America. So far you’re winning this imaginary scenario, we have a great gift.

    Now let’s assume that you were able to choose your parents, and a few life circumstances.

    That means that you chose to be black in America. A pretty great experience if you ask me. Maybe you knew there would be challenges but you decided to chose it anyway because you wanted the challenge.

    Now let’s go back to the life before this life. Wait a second, it’s not guaranteed that you were black. You could have chosen another country, culture and life circumstances. What if you were a commander in the Russian army? What would you have done with that life?

    And now knowing that you were once not black in a previous life how would that change your view of this life?

    My point is that just because you chose this identity and you absorbed the past emotional imprints from your parents and culture doesn’t mean that you have to use the same strategy as the people before you. I know that there is an entire body of work done by many scholars and activists. I would argue that they innovated beyond the mental thought processes of the times to change the black identity.

    What I’m saying now is to tune into the flow of the universe. The old clothes of history are being ravaged to form a new humanity that is unified. That doesn’t mean that your culture will die out. I’m saying don’t be left in the dust of history because of a slight miscalculation on your part.

    Compassion is the way forward. We are one human family despite the illusions. I know how it looks now, but the future is much brighter.

    • “Compassion is the way forward. We are one human family despite the illusions. I know how it looks now, but the future is much brighter.”

      Well I do hope the future is brighter for us. At the moment it loos pretty bleak but we can’t just give up. I also think that the “powers that be” do NOT see as one human family. We have to keep in mind that the people who have the power to change things don’t have the will to do so. And the people who have the will don’t have the power.

      • One of my favorite lyrics of all time is from ATLiens, Babylon “While we ranting and raving bout gats
        Nigga, they made them gats
        They got some shit that’ll blow out our backs
        From where they stay at.” -Andre 3000

        That tells you, chose compassion. It seems difficult but it’s the right way. It’s also powerful.
        If you’re a god you don’t need to fight anything or anyone. You use invisible forces unseen by the naked eye.

      • Thank you and you are welcome! I have just watched three of Latasha*s videos, and I plan to watch more! And you are right — she is brilliant and beautiful!

  8. That picture you have posted of Common is telling. That is a very interesting type of handshake you are engaging in there, isn’t it Common???? If the world was improving then I could understand to a degree why folks would be persuaded to “join the fold”. However, this is not the case, society and the world are trundling downhill at a rapid pace, what good is it being rich and wealthy when the world around you has been reduced to a ruinous heap of rubble, dust and ashes?

    The dainty treats of this western Babylon system are temporary, black folks would do well to remember this and act accordingly instead of lusting after and viciously chasing down the vestigial enticements that are presented to them by the white liberal.

    • Yes I noticed the same thing. That handshake looks very “masonic” does it not?lol The problem with these guys is they can’t wait to “join the fold”. Common had a complete 360 from how he was back in the day. he always talked about Malcolm X being his hero and being Afrocentric. Now look at him. If you’re going to be pro-black and Afrocentric then stand your damn ground! Don’t be a lap dog to your master! I’ve really lost a lot of respect for Common. But what do you expect from phonies right? That means he was never real in the first place. It makes all us pro-blacks look bad.

Leave a Reply

