The Importance of Family

Family

I will have a feeling of love and responsibility for all Black children, be
they my own biological descendants or not. The extended family is a traditional
way of life for us, therefore all Afrikan adults are potentially correct Black
parents.

– I will teach what is right and what is wrong.

– I will respect my children and will demand respect from them.

– I will strive to produce in the home harmony, stability and an atmosphere of
trust and love. I will provide opportunities for learning and will instill a
sense of pride by teaching our past and present history.

– I will have control and power in the home, being that the home is the smallest
example of a Nation — and if the home is not together you cannot deal with
outside forces.

– I will find the best possible educational institutions for my children and I
will participate in some way in the institution.

– I will seek to establish and perpetuate those moral attitudes and values which
will add to my children’s personalities and characters; virtue, knowledge,
temperance, patience, godliness, brotherliness, kindness and charity.

– I will develop a deep inner love that flows over and around the Black child to
form a shield of protection, guidance, wisdom and strength.

– I will assume the responsibility for cultivating the development of Black
youth. This cultivation process occurs mentally (through skill development);
physically (through the sharing of food, clothing and shelter); emotionally
(through the commitment to the national development of Black people); and
spiritually (through the living out of a superior value system).

– I will be about collaborating with others like myself, creating an atmosphere
whereby Black children can grow and develop their potential in effective and
meaningful ways.

– I will be responsible for strengthening the positive qualities of the child
and for correcting negative characteristics. I will maintain and nurture
positive stability in the Black family.

– I will be a model of the intellectual, emotional and moral discipline
necessary to the child’s understanding of, relationship to, and responsibility
for the total Black experience — past, present and future.

– I will have as my goal harmony within and freedom without; with confidence in
the knowledge that the ultimate in freedom is service to mankind. My whole
person and lifestyle will transmit these same values to the young.

– I will help every Black child to develop the skills to survive. I will teach
that the highest good in life is to serve Black people, helping all Black people
in the struggle to survive.

Mwalimu I. Mwadilifu

13 thoughts on “The Importance of Family

  1. Beautiful picture of the black family. I have no doubt if you aren’t a father and husband you will really be a prince to your princess and a great father and son. You are a beautiful soul. I love that you love your people.

    • No I don’t have kids at the moment. I’m sure the Most High will bless me with kids when the time is right. You’re a very beautiful queen and I always appreciate your kind words. 🙂

  2. This picture sparks up a feeling that cant be explained unless you are a black man or woman. It also makes me even more upset about the homo agenda they are trying to force on African people. However, we will win because when we are born we have thousands of years of collective memory to draw from as a race and this picture is a reminder of our true nature as black men and women from day 1. The Black man, woman and child–the original trinity.

      • This may seem unrelated. I gave the link to this pic on facebook and someone commented saying that “Negroes are not African” essentially saying that African Americans have not ties to Africa so far as DNA is concerned. It sounds kind of odd and I have heard this somewhere before…I don’t really know what to make of it. What do you think about this?

  3. Pingback: The Importance of Family | Black Love and Unity

Leave a Reply

